Annual Fund

The Annual Fund provides unrestricted support to our school. We rely on contributions to deliver the extraordinary education and experience that have benefited generations of students enabling us to strengthen critical resources and facilities, and to continuously integrate best practices into our general and Judaic studies curricula.

All board members, parents, former parent, faculty, and staff, grandparents, alumni and key community members are asked to contribute to the Annual Fund. This year, our Annual Fund goal is $600,000. A gift of any size will make a difference.

To align Annual Fund giving with philanthropic passions, we are offering the following “baskets” of funding needs.  These baskets support the general operating expenses of our school and give donors the ability to express their philanthropic priorities within the context of the Annual Fund:

  • Innovative Classroom Fund – This fund will support technology, faculty professional development, innovative curriculum, learning specialists, and other direct classroom support.
  • Jewish Life and Learning Fund – This fund will support the Jewish studies curriculum, Israel education, greater Jewish life engagement, and expanded opportunities for Tikkun Olam (repairing the world) experiences.
  • Tuition Assistance Fund – This fund will support the tuition assistance program and foster diversity within our community.Creative Expression and Education Fund – This fund will support creative life at BHDS, from music to art to drama, and other efforts to nurture creativity.
  • Head of School Fund – This fund provides maximum flexibility by allowing our Head of School to direct philanthropic support towards areas of greatest needed.

  • For more information about supporting BHDS through the Annual Fund, please contact Karen Gordon, Associate Director of Advancement at 415-406-1035 or  

Annual Fund 2013-14 Leadership

Parent Co-Chairs, SF:

Kristin Goldman
Kerry Lanigan Freeman

Parent Chair, Marin:
D'vora Tirschwell

President, Board of Trustees:
Karen Perlman

Head of School:
Donald Zimring

Chair, Advancement Committee:
Rebecca Ravel

Annual Fund 2013-14 Committee

Our Annual Fund committee shows inspired leadership and we thank them for their participation and their efforts. 


Marin Chair: D'vora Tirschwell
San Francisco Co-Chairs:Kristin Goldman

Kerry Lanigan-Freeman

Karen Bluestone

Vivien Braly

Pini Altman

Ellie Cohen

Scott Andersen

Leah Lamstein

Shannon Atlas

Ben Lang

Casey Berman

Maria Lang

Rachel Bernstein

Traci Lanier

Katherine Dalle-Molle

Diane Lowenstein

Elizabeth Diamond

Deborah Meshel

Rhona Edelbaum Sloan

Marshall Richman

Elena Ehrlich

Orr Shakked

Diane Epstein-Porter

Elizabeth Sheppard

Ilysa Goldblatt

Matt Slavin

Jennifer Heyman

Nan Solomon

Karen Hindin

Jacquie Strauss

Avi Konstantinovsky

Pam Welner

Megan Kossar

Jon Welner

Melissa Lee

Nicole Wilkes

Louella Neyman

Lisa Pollock Mann

Suzanne Rittenberg Rubinstein

Jamie Rose

Renee Samson

Joëlle Schnaider

Marci Sherman

Martin Singer

Debra Sweet

Stephen Ticktin

Jen Zagofsky